Switching off from your PhD

Kaja Fenn


I love my job – if you can call a PhD that. I enjoy doing research, I like my topic, supervisors, fieldwork, and labwork (despite it being tedious at times) and the work itself is progressing without major hiccups. Even the worst days are not bad enough to make me consider other career options.

In general, we don’t keep 9-5 hours; the labwork and the deadlines mean we quite often work to get things done, whether that’s extended days, late nights, or weekends (I’m typing this at 7am on Sunday morning, already logged on to a machine in my lab and I will be going into the lab to start another experiment in about an hour). At the same time, when the workload is lighter this means we can take time off in the middle of the day, to do something as mundane as going to the bank, or take a day off just because we can. This flexibility, which can be quite a blessing if you don’t like routine, can be also a curse – because it can make you feel like you should always be working.

As your project is constantly on your mind, and you get to choose when you work, it can be very hard to switch off. Add to this a high-achiever mentality, a sprinkle of the quite common imposter syndrome, and a dusting of any personal issues you might be dealing with, and it is no surprise that PhD students are particularly prone to stress, anxiety, and depression. All of this makes switching off your brain and actually taking time off to do something you enjoy even more important.

Rowing at Henley 4’s and 8’s Regatta 2019.

I personally get drawn to sports, which help to satisfy my highly competitive nature. In all seriousness, I joined the rowing team at the very start of my PhD and I am genuinely convinced that it has helped me get through my PhD. For starters it has put structure into my days (I have to go to training at specific times, often a couple of times a day) which a PhD can sometimes lack. It has also given me an outlet for any anger and frustrations (like when another of my experiments has failed, for example). An interesting side effect has been the moments of inspiration as to how to overcome roadblocks or approach questions from different angles, which have come to me when in the boat and seemingly 100% focused on my technique. Because I gave my brain a chance to switch off, it has rewarded me by coming up with some solutions to problems.

I asked my fellow Evidently Scientifical writers and editors what their thoughts were on switching off and what they do/did to get away from the daily grind of the PhD:

Toby: “For me, the best way to switch off and forget about the PhD was definitely squash. I played most days after work and there was nothing better than chasing a ball around a room for a few hours! It's just such a single-minded and tiring thing to do that you don't get a chance to be distracted by work - and it was a great way to mark the end of a day at the office.”

Louis:I play for the University rugby league team. Most of the time it exhausts me and sometimes it leaves me injured and unable to walk freely; but I love it. Suffering gruelling fitness sessions as a team helps you to form incredibly close friendships I wouldn’t otherwise have. During these sessions, and games, for that matter, everything bar the present moment ceases to exist. No worries about my research, no worries about anything; I walk (or hobble) away with a sense of achievement and happiness that can only be derived from intense exercise.”
Rellie: “For me it’s all about sport. I swim for Oxford’s second’s team, I am training for a half marathon and I also go to spin and Pilates classes during the week. Doing exercise just takes me away from my own brain — you end up completely being absorbed in the task at hand. I also have been learning French for the last three years. Learning a language is less relaxing than sport but is still a nice way to get away from the PhD life!”

Sports, team or individual, work for so many of us. Many of our fellow PhDs have taken up running, which helps them to clear their heads after a long day at the office, and is easy to do by yourself. And then there are the endorphins that are released during physical activity, known to improve mood, and reduce stress and depression. Though I think the competitive and social aspects also help in switching off. Obviously, there are other hobbies…

Isabelle:I really try to keep to working hours. You know the traditional 9 to 5 (although this is more often 8.30 to 5.30 ± 2 hours). I think this is really healthy – it gives me plenty of time to do other things. I run and go to the gym and to yoga. I also sing in a choir which is a great way of meeting different people and completely switching off from work. One of the things I miss the most is having a dog, so I joined Borrow My Doggy. As its name suggests this puts you in contact with dog owners nearby whose dogs would like some extra walks and affection. My partner and I walk two dogs who live down the road who are amazing. They are so affectionate, and we love taking them to the park. I’ve found that the combination of walking and spending time with these lovely, fluffy and playful animals is one of the best ways of reducing my stress levels”
Fiona: Apart from my time in the field, my PhD is pretty sedentary - with many hours spent staring at a computer screen - so I like to do something a bit more active in my spare time. I like to get outside and go for walks in the countryside, and have also taken up Lindyhop (swing dancing), contemporary dance, and ballet. Having said that, I also find that dinner or a film night with friends is a good way to wind down, and takes your mind off any data woes! If I fancy something really relaxing, I'll put on some music and do some pencil sketching, or bake something tasty.”

Axlotl by Brooke

Brooke:Maybe it's because I used to work 'normal' jobs, where at the end of the day I dropped everything and forgot about it until the next day. But I have never had any trouble with switching off from my PhD and sticking to 9-5 Monday - Friday office hours. Outside of the office I spend my time making music, painting, writing and generally being creative with no other goal than just enjoying it. I've also found it helpful to my physical and mental wellbeing to do sports and exercise, so I do rowing, the Oxbridge cliché, rock climbing and a few gym sessions a week. Again though, there is no goal other than having fun and enjoying the activity for its sake. Having said all that, sometimes I just cannot be arsed with doing anything. Some weekends I will do nothing at all, except maybe watch some crap TV that requires zero brain power. Down time is important, you can't be on and productive all the time. So try to make sure that you take that time for yourself and don't let anyone try and pressure you into working past your limits. Least of all other grad students.”
Marie: “At first I got REALLY into nutrition and exercise research, and then I applied that to my own exercise and diet routine...that was pretty much my main side interest during the second and third year. But there’s only so much stuff that’s been proven to deliver results, in terms of fat loss and muscle gain. Now I’ve got a pretty solid hold on what “eating healthy” and “efficient workouts” actually mean and there isn’t much new information to discover. So I spent the past half year making outreach and scicom [science communication] my new special interest. It’s been really rewarding and I wouldn’t have imagined all the ways I can get creative, before diving in! I highly recommend finding a side gig that keeps one sane during a PhD.”

It may feel, especially for new PhD students, like you need to work and be “on it” all the time to prove to your supervisors, yourself, and other postgrads that you deserve to be where you are. Trust our well-seasoned writers and go find something that makes you happy and allows you to switch off! You will feel so much better for it!

And if you are really struggling to switch off, and can’t control your stress levels, please seek outside help before it gets serious. Every university has counselling services which can be your first port of call, or speak to your GP.

Useful contact numbers

  • Anxiety UK – Charity providing support if you have been diagnosed with an anxiety condition. Phone: 03444 775 774 (Monday to Friday, 9.30am to 5.30pm)
  • Mind – Promotes the views and needs of people with mental health problems. Phone: 0300 123 3393 (Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm)
  • Samaritans – Confidential support for people experiencing feelings of distress or despair. Phone: 116 123 (free 24-hour helpline)

 

One thought on “Switching off from your PhD

Add yours

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑